India extends visa program to 37 more countries

India extends visa program to 37 more countries

NEW DELHI — The Government of India is extending its e-Tourist Visa (e-TV) program to 37 more countries, effective today. The total number of countries under the scheme is now 150, including Canada, says the India Tourism Office.

India originally launched the e-TV program in November 2014. Sixteen of the country’s airports (Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai Cochin, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Trivandrum,  Tiruchirapalli and Varanasi) are designated for providing e-TV service.

The 37 additional countries are: Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Since the program’s launch more than 750,000 visas have been issued and an average of 3,500 visas are being granted daily to foreign nationals. The cost of the e-TV is a maximum of US$60 plus bank charges. See

Travel Week Logo

Get travel news right to your inbox!