EU advises more lifting of restrictions for international travellers

European Council takes Canada off list but EU members can make their own call

BRUSSELS — Canada is now off the list of countries recommended by the European Council for restriction-free travel into the EU, however each EU member state sets its own rules for entry to its borders.

The European Council updated its list of countries yesterday, and with that update omitted Canada as well as Argentina and Australia.

As per the European Council’s site, “Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular Argentina, Australia and Canada were removed from the list.”

The list is updated every two weeks and can be found here.