Canada is reportedly on the EU’s reopening list 

TORONTO — The EU is pulling together a list of more than a dozen countries whose citizens will be allowed to visit EU countries in its first phase of reopening and at least according to early reports, Canada is said to be on the list.

Countries still dealing with high COVID-19 numbers including the U.S., Brazil and Russia, are reportedly not on the list.

However news sites including say Canada is on the list, along with Australia, New Zealand, Morocco, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, Rwanda, Serbia, Uruguay and Tunisia. China is said to be pending as the EU waits to hear about reciprocity.

The EU, already open for travel within its own borders, had been targeting July 1 for its next phase, however reports also suggest that date may be delayed as governments hash out agreements.

Travellers arriving in Canada, including Canadians returning to Canada from anywhere outside the country, are still required to self-isolate for 14 days. There’s also the issue of travel insurance, and along with that, the travel advisory warning against non-essential travel outside of Canada.

However airlines including Air Canada, Transat, Lufthansa and more are offering flights to Europe this summer, as the aviation industry tries to salvage some small part of the normally lucrative transatlantic high season.

Travellers at Frankfurt airport, one of Europe’s busiest, will be able to get an on-site coronavirus test before jetting off. The walk-in testing centre opened today. Fast-track tests providing results within two to three hours will cost 139 euros ($156). Regular tests with results available within six to 12 hours cost 59 euros ($52).

In mid-June Travelweek reported on a new website with travel info and regulations for travel to and within the EU in the wake of COVID-19.

The new interactive site, called ‘Re-open EU’, is aimed at supporting a safe relaunch of travelling and tourism across Europe.

Dana Welch, Manager, Canada for Tourism Ireland and also chair of ETC’s Canada Chapter, notes that the platform provides real-time information on borders and available means of transport and tourism services, as well as health and safety measures and restrictions across all EU Member States (27 countries).

Users can view regulations country by country, and within each country’s listings, click on different icons, colour-coded green, yellow or red, for updates on arrival regulations by various modes of transport, quarantine restrictions and more.

The site is available in all 24 languages of the EU.

With file from The Associated Press

Travel Week Logo

Get travel news right to your inbox!